INPP Conferences

Details of future INPP annual international conferences and information on all INPP conferences run since 1997

On this page

1. Next INPP Conference


2. Past Conferences

The list below covers the INPP international conferences since 1997.

1997 Spain – Malaga Fulford/SadlerFirst International Conference on Philosophy and Mental HealthProgramme
1998 France - Marseille NaudinVulnérabilité et DestinPoster

1999France - Nice Pringue/Sammy-KohlSchizophrenia and IdentityProgramme
2000Italy - Florence GiovanniMadness, Science and Society: Florence, Renaissance 2000Programme
2001France - Paris GrangerPain and DepressionProgramme
2002Finland - Turku (Trainees Conference) Suomela/Heinimaa1st International Congress of Psychiatric Trainees on Science, Ethics and PhilosophyProgramme
2002South Africa - Cape Town van StadenLaunch of INPP at the two-day International Launch of INPP at the two-day International Symposium on the Philosophy and Ethics of Psychiatry, hosted by The South African Society of Psychiatrists’
12th National Psychiatry Congress:
The Psychiatrist, the Patient, the Community (September 23 – 27)
Cover of the SASOP Programme

Two day launch programme
2003Brazil - Brasília da CostaEthics, Language and SufferingProgramme
2004Germany - Heidelberg Fuchs/MundtTime, Memory and HistoryProgramme and Abstracts
2005USA - Yale DavidsonTime, Memory and History New Philosophies for Community Psychiatry: Recovery Oriented, Evidence-Based and BeyondProgramme
2006Netherlands - LeidenGlas/RalstonPhilosophy. Psychiatry and the NeurosciencesProgramme
2007South Africa - Cape Townvan StadenHypotheses, Neuro Science & Real PersonsFinal announcement and programme

Pre-conference editorial

Post-conference report
2008 USA - Dallas SadlerPsychiatry and FreedomProgramme and abstracts
2009Portugal - LisbonFigueraUnderstanding Mental DisordersProgramme
2010 India - Mumbai Ajai and Shakuntala SinghMind, Brain and ConsciousnessProgramme

Concurrent sessions
2010UK - Preston/ManchesterHeginbotham/Thornton/PatelReal People: The Self in Mental Health and Social CareCall for abstracts

2011Sweden - Gothenberg MalmgrenEthics, Experience and Evidence: Integration of Perspectives in PsychiatryProgramme
2012New Zealand - Otago Gillett/Pickering/StetslowCulture and Mental HealthProgramme
2013St Catherine’s College, Oxford University,
Harcourt/Avramides/ FulfordUK Travelling Symposium - International Summer School:
Mind, Values and Mental Health
Summer School timetable
2013University of Durham, UKTaylor-Aiken/Bowden/ RatcliffeUK Travelling Symposium (Durham) - Current and Future Applications of Phenomenology in PsychiatryDurham Programme
2013London, UKFulford/SadlerUK Travelling Symposium - PPP (Philosophy, Psychiatry & Psychology) Editorial Board MeetingPPP Editorial Board meeting agenda

PPP Review of Activity to July 2013
2013Kings College, LondonBolton/FulfordUK Travelling Symposium (King’s College, London) - Conceptual Issues and the DSMDelegate list and programme
2013Pitt Building, Cambridge University
Fulford/PeileUK Travelling Symposium (Cambridge) - Teaching, Learning and Implementing Values-based PracticeProgramme
2013St Catherine’s College, Oxford University
Fulford/HandaUK Travelling Symposium Oxford) - Making Change HappenProgramme
2014Bulgaria - Plovdiv StoyanovNeuroscience, Logics, Mental DevelopmentProgramme

2015 Chile - Frutillar Doerr/StanghelliniWhy do Humans Become Mentally Ill? Anthropological, biological and cultural vulnerabilities of mental illnessArtwork and first announcement
2016Brazil - Sao PaoloMessasPsychopathology of the Present: Theory and PracticeProgramme (Portuguese)

Opening presentation

YouTube links for keynotes

Proceedings (in Portugese)
2017Spain - MadridLopez-IborPhilosophy and Psychiatry: Contributions of NeuroscienceArtwork and flyerProgramme
2018Hong KongWongHistory, Philosophy and Ethics of Psychiatry: The State of Play in the 21st CenturyHandbook and abstracts
2019Krakow, PolandBanickiThe Many Faces of Personality DisorderArtwork

2019Warsaw, PolandTeczExperts and Representations in Mental HealthSummary programme and artworkProgramme

Meeting announcement
2020UK - ManchesterBergqvistExperts by Experience: a Critical Discourse One-day ConferenceSchedule and artwork
2022UK - ManchesterBergqvistPhilosophy of Psychiatry and Lived Experience: New Models of Mental HealthArtwork

2023Portugal - LisbonTellesHalf-day symposium: Revisiting Critical Issues in Psychiatric DiagnosisProgramme
2024Austria - ViennaMusalek
25th Annual Conference of the International Network for Philosophy and Psychiatry

Crises and Mental Health: philosophical and social aesthetic perspectives


3. INPP Conference Calendar

The following conference proposals have been agreed

May 1 – 3, 2025Germany - LeipzigTBAPeter SchonknechtProposed